The Diploma in Nursing Program is offered by the College of Health Sciences, University of Malaya Medical Centre especially for school leavers who are interested to pursue their career in nursing. This program will provide the students with skills, knowledge and competencies required to be a confident and caring general nurse practitioner.

Our aim is to produce graduates who are caring and able to provide safe, competent, ethical, high quality nursing practice and to enhance the growth and development of nurses to meet the current needs of the country. The curriculum, course contents, academic standards and course evaluations are specifically designed to enable students to gain and develop the skills and knowledge relevant for a career in nursing.

History of establishment of the School of Nursing

Nursing School Foundation was launched by the Minister of Health, Mr. Bahaman Bin Shamsudin on 28 November 1967.

In 1968, the nursing program started with the help of 3 nursing educators (Mrs. Chacko, Miss Willa Routledge & Miss Norma Wylie) from the World Health Organization (WHO).

History of Nursing Program




Nursing Certificate program started.

It is governed by the Nursing Education Advisory Board (NEAB) under the supervision of the Dean of Medical Faculty University of Malaya.

March 1992

Nursing Certificate was upgraded to Diploma.

25 July 1994

The Nursing Program received recognition from the Public Service Department.


The School of Nursing  moved from the Nurses’ Hostel to the Nursing Science Education Complex University Malaya Medical Centre.

September 2006

The School of Nursing  was renamed College of Nursing.

2012 till now

The college moved to Level 2, Wisma R&D, University of Malaya.
The lecture hall of Medical Faculty in the 70’s
The lecture hall at nurses hostel UMMC in the 90’s
The lecture hall in Nursing Science Education Complex UMMC from 2012-now

Former Head of Nursing Program

Mrs Rachel Anikattu Chacko

Miss Ong Poh Teen

Puan Siti Aizah Zahari
1972 – 1994

Puan Che’An Ahmad
1994 – 2007

Cik Sharifah Fatimah Syed Ab. Khadir
2007 – 2013

Puan Farwah Osman
2013 – 2016

Siti Azlina Binti Mohd Amin
2016 – 2020

Haslinda Binti Othman
2021 – kini